Announcing the 2020 Athletics Hall of Fame Class

Father Ryan High School is proud to announce today the 2020 Class of the school's Athletics Hall of Fame: 18 athletes, two coaches, five teams and two contributors, whose accomplishments showcase the legacy of the historic school’s successful athletic programs in Nashville and the State of Tennessee.

These athletes and leaders represent classes from 1927 to 1999 and were selected from more than 250 nominations submitted by the community. They will be formally inducted in a special, virtual celebration to take place later this year.

Ann Mullins '03, Director of Athletics, said that she was pleased with the response from the Father Ryan community. "This is a legendary athletic program with achievements that span ten decades,” she said. “It has been such a moving experience these last two years to learn about all of our nominees, and be reminded not only of what they accomplished athletically but also what they have contributed to this community, city, and country. I thank the Hall of Fame Selection Committee for their outstanding work and look forward to celebrating these men and women this year.”

The 2020 Athletic Hall of Fame members, their graduating class, and their sports are:

Pete Curley ’32 –Basketball, Football
J.B Hatley ’37 – Baseball, Basketball, Football
John L. Burns ’44 – Basketball, Football
Billy Hudson ’58 – Baseball, Basketball, Football
Frank Halliburton ’59 – Football, Basketball, Track and Field
Tom Curley ’61- Basketball, Football, Track and Field
Jim Derrick ’62 – Baseball, Basketball, Football
Joe Miller ’62 – Football, Track and Field
Tom Morales ’72 – Football, Wrestling
Eric Wood ’72 – Football, Wrestling
Tim Wilson ’72 – Football, Wrestling
Kay Batey ’74 – Basketball
Carl Crain ’75 – Basketball
Jim Miller ’82 – Football
Chris Dacri Wantz ’88 - Golf
Elaine Derrick Bryan ’92 – Basketball, Cross Country, Soccer, Softball,
Kelly Cockerham Reilly ’93 – Basketball, Volleyball
Angela Rohling Gregory ’98 – Basketball, Track and Field, Volleyball
1927 State Champion Basketball Team
1974 State Champion Wrestling Team
1997 State Champion Football Team
1998 State Champion Boys Soccer Team
1999 State Champion Volleyball Team

John Gorham ’54 – Girls Basketball
Bobby Garmon ’65 - Wrestling

Murray Lynch ’55 – Coach and Administrator
John Spore ’64 – Teacher, Counselor

The addition of these 27 inductees brings the overall membership in the Father Ryan Athletics Hall of Fame to 52 athletes, eight coaches, 12 teams and five contributors. You can view the whole class, and last year's inaugural class, at

Congratulations to all of the inductees. Go Irish!